Apply for a Fire Rescue Job
Miami-Dade County only accepts applications for employment online. We recommend that all potential applicants create a candidate profile on the Miami-Dade Jobs website. Automatic notifications will be emailed to you when positions are open.
Position vacancies for Fire Fighter and other county positions are advertised through a variety of media and are always available on the Miami-Dade Jobs page.
We are currently not accepting applications.
After you apply for an advertised job opening, we are not able to provide individual status updates.
Eligibility & Requirements
- 18 years of age.
- Eligible to work in the United States.
- Meet all qualifications in the Florida State Statute Number 633.34, “Firefighters; qualifications for employment.”
- High school diploma or acceptable GED.
- Valid driver’s license from any state (equivalent to a State of Florida Class E) may be utilized upon application; with the ability to obtain the State of Florida driver’s license by hire date.
- Possess and maintain State of Florida Certification for Firefighter and Emergency Medical Technician or Paramedic.
- Successful completion of the Candidate Physical Ability Test.
- Possess and maintain a valid Cardio-pulmonary Resuscitation card from the American Red Cross or the Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support and certified by the American Heart Association.
- Successful completion of an Emergency Vehicle Operator Course, or reasonable equivalent as approved by the Florida Department of Health Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.
- Meet departmental physical standards.
- Successful completion of all swimming requirements and pass the swim evaluation within six months of obtaining probationary status.
- Have not been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances, nor had a driver license suspended under the point system provided for in Florida Statute, Chapter 322, within the past three years. [F.S. 401.281(d)]
- Have not been convicted of four traffic violations in the preceding thirty-six months from the date of application in Florida or any other state.
- No pending felony charges or pending misdemeanor charges that are directly related to the position sought.
- All required certifications listed above and any other certifications, which may be required by the State of Florida or MDFR, must be maintained throughout the term of employment to retain this classification.
- Nonuser of tobacco or tobacco products for at least one year immediately preceding application, as evidenced by the sworn affidavit of the applicant. [F.S. 633.34(6)]
- Submit fingerprints to be processed by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- Able to work variable shifts, including shifts that require 24 hours of consecutive duty.
Preference will be given to:
- U.S. Veterans.
- Graduates of the Miami-Dade County Academy of Fire Rescue with Emergency Medical Technician and State of Florida Firefighter II certifications, in accordance with Resolution R-480-07.
Preference may also be given to:
- Certified State of Florida Firefighter I.
- Emergency Medical Technicians.
- State of Florida Paramedic (Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic).
State of Florida Firefighter, Paramedic, and Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic certification numbers should be entered in the online application under Licenses and Certification Sections.
Once you have been considered as a candidate you must pass the following exams before a job can be offered.
- Audio/Written Screening Test (AWST)
- Candidate Physical Ability Test (CPAT)
- Medical Examination & Stress Test
- Background Check
- Psychological Evaluation