Skip to Primary Content

Welcome to the new version of Miami-Dade County's website. We'd love your feedback.

Real Estate Tax Payments

Real estate property taxes are collected annually and can be paid online, by mail or in person. Also known as ad valorem taxes, real estate property taxes are based on the assessed value of a property's land, buildings and improvements, determined by the Property Appraiser as of Jan. 1.

At the end of the certified tax roll, the Property Appraiser delivers the certified tax roll to the Tax Collector, who mails tax notices to the last owner of the property to collect the money owed.

The real estate property tax notice also includes non-ad valorem assessments levied against the property for services such as solid waste, fire rescue, libraries and other special assessments.

County and municipal governments, as well as local taxing authorities (such as the School Board and South Florida Water Management District, Children's Trust), determine tax rates (also known as millage rates). The rate is multiplied against the assessed value of the property, minus exemptions, to determine the amount of taxes due.

Tax notices are mailed on or before Nov. 1 and must be paid by March 31. If you don't receive your tax notice in November, call the Tax Collector's office to request a duplicate. Taxes become delinquent on April 1 and additional interest and fees will be added to the bill.

According to Florida Statute 197.122, all property owners are held to know that taxes are due and payable annually. They are charged with the duty of ascertaining the amount of current and delinquent taxes due. If a taxpayer does not receive a tax notice in November, it is the taxpayer's responsibility to contact the Tax Collector's Office to request a duplicate tax notice.

Note: 2019's first quarter tax bills will be payable June 1. Online payment by e-checking and credit card will be available via the County’s payment gateway.

  • Payment Methods

    If paying by check, all checks must be drawn on U.S. funds and issued on a U.S. bank. Canadian and foreign checks must be payable in U.S. funds and drawn on a U.S. bank.

    Pay online

    Property tax bills can be paid online using Visa, Mastercard or Discover credit card accounts or an e-check. Delinquent accounts that have a certificate issued or those in a bankrupt status cannot be paid online.

    If paying with a credit card, a convenience fee of 2.21 percent is added to the tax amount. If paying with an e-check, there is no convenience fee. A service fee of at least $25 up to a maximum of 5 percent of the amount of the taxes will be charged for any e-check payment returned by the bank.

    Pay by phone

    Call 305-270-4916. If you want to process your payment via e-check, call 311.

    Pay in person

    Property tax bills can be paid at the Miami-Dade Tax Collector's Office.

    Use cash, personal check or money order. Credit cards are not accepted. Bring the entire tax notice with you.

    If you're paying $10,000 or more, your Social Security card and a valid ID (passport or U.S.-issued driver's license) are required.

    Discounts for payments made in person are based on the actual date payment is received.

    Pay by mail

    Make checks or money orders payable to Miami-Dade County Tax Collector. No cash accepted. Canadian and foreign checks must be payable in U.S. funds and drawn on a U.S. bank. Include your property's folio number on the check or money order.

    In lieu of a service charge authorized under subsection (3), s. 832.062(4)(a), or s. 832.07, the payee of a payment instrument, the payment of which is refused by the drawee because of lack of funds, lack of credit, or lack of an account, or where the maker or drawer stops payment on the instrument with intent to defraud, may lawfully collect bank fees actually incurred by the payee in the course of tendering the payment, plus a service charge of $25 if the face value does not exceed $50; $30 if the face value exceeds $50 but does not exceed $300; $40 if the face value exceeds $300; or 5 percent of the face value of the payment instrument, whichever is greater. The right to damages under this subsection may be claimed without the filing of a civil action. Pursuant to administrative Order 4-86 the taxpayer will be responsible for fees and/or loss of discount resulting from returned payments.

    For unpaid return checks, a service fee of $25 will apply if the face value doesn't exceed $50; $30 fee if value is $51 to $300; $40 fee or 5 percent of the payment value, whichever is greater, for all other payments.

    Discounts are based on the postmark of the envelope. Payment must be postmarked by the last day of the month to avoid additional interest or loss of discount. Postmarks are not accepted on delinquent taxes.

  • Discounts for Early Payment

    The following payment discounts are offered for early payment:

    • 4 percent if paid in November
    • 3 percent if paid in December
    • 2 percent if paid in January
    • 1 percent if paid in February
    • Gross tax if paid in March. No discount applies.
  • Tax Payment Alternatives

    Partial Payments

    Partial payments for current year taxes are allowed from Nov. 1 through March 31. Complete the 2018 Partial Payment Plan Application and submit it in person or mail it to the Tax Collector's Office Ad Valorem Exceptions Unit. This option is currently available for 2018 property taxes only.

    The balance of your taxes must be paid by March 31 to avoid the taxes from becoming delinquent and applicable interest and fees added.

    There is a $10 processing fee for each payment submitted. Once you elect to participate in the Partial Payment Plan by making the first payment, you are required to continue participation for the tax year and waive your right to receive discounts.

    You may not participate in the Partial Payment Plan if:

    • You maintain an escrow account with your mortgage company
    • You are a quarterly installment plan participant
    • You filed a petition with the Value Adjustment Board

    Applications are available in October. You will need to submit one application with your initial payment to participate in the program. Discounts for early payment are not granted.

    If there is an outstanding Water, Road and Sewer lien (WRS) being paid on an installment basis on your yearly tax bill, the installment portion for this year has to be paid in full before April 1 to avoid the remaining balance due on the lien to become delinquent and a separate tax certificate to be sold for the remaining delinquent amount of the Water, Road and Sewer lien.

    Deferred Payments

    You can defer a portion or all of your property taxes and any non-ad valorem assessments.

    The tax deferral becomes a lien on the property with interest accruing on the deferred amount until the balance is paid. The interest rate may not exceed 7 percent.

    To defer payment, a property owner must:

    • Claim a homestead exemption
    • Proof of fire and homeowners insurance on the property with Miami-Dade County Tax Collector listed as loss payee
    • Show proof of income
    • All taxes may be deferred if an applicant’s household income is less than $10,000
    • The total amount of deferral plus accrued interest and the balance of the primary mortgage cannot exceed 85 percent of the just value. The applicant's primary mortgage cannot exceed 70 percent of the just value

    If the applicant is less than 65 years old with a household income of $10,000 or more, the tax bill portion that exceeds 5 percent of the applicant's household income may be deferred.

    If the applicant is 65 years of age or older with a household income greater than the Senior Homestead Exemption adjusted income limitation, the tax bill portion that exceeds 3 percent of the applicant's household income for the prior calendar year may be deferred.

    The deferred tax amount plus interest becomes due and payable to Miami-Dade County if:

    • You sell your home
    • Homeowners and fire insurance are not maintained
    • Change of property use occurs and owner is no longer entitled to claim homestead exemption for such property

    Homestead Tax Deferral applications are accepted by the Tax Collector's Office starting Nov. 1, and must be submitted by March 31 of the following year.

    Installment Plans

    If your estimated taxes are more than $100, you can split your tax payments into four installments.

    In order to qualify, complete a Notice and Application for Alternative Payment before May 1.

    The following payment schedule applies to the installment plan:

    • First installment: 1/4 the total of estimated taxes discounted 6 percent. Payment is due by June 30.
    • Second installment: 1/4 to the total estimated taxes discounted 4.5 percent. Payment due by Sept. 30.
    • Third installment: 1/4 the total estimated taxes plus the remaining 1/2 of any adjustment made for actual tax liability discounted 3 percent. Payment is due by Dec. 31.
    • Fourth installment: 1/4 of the total estimated taxes plus the remaining 1/2 of any adjustment for actual tax liability. No discount applies. Payment is due by March 31.

    Once you participate in the installment plan, you are automatically enrolled every year. You will not have to complete a new application every year.

    Failure to make the first payment will automatically cancel your participation and you will be required to pay in full by March 31.

    Energy Improvement Assessments are collected annually pursuant to Florida Statutes 200.069 and 197.3636. If you are a Quarterly Installment Plan participant and have an Energy Improvement Assessment, total assessment for this energy improvement will only be billed in December (3rd installment) and March (4th installment), so please be aware that the 3rd and 4th installments will be higher.

    If you have an Energy Improvement Assessment and your lending institution pays your annual property tax bill, you should not participate in the Quarterly Installment Plan.

  • Delinquent Taxes

    Real estate taxes become delinquent on April 1. On that date, 3 percent interest is added to the gross tax amount due plus advertising costs and fees.

    Delinquent taxes for past years must be paid by cashier's check or money order. Personal checks will not be accepted.

    Postmarks are not accepted on delinquent taxes.

    Beginning on or before June 1, the Tax Collector is required by law to hold a Tax Certificate Sale. The tax certificate represents a lien on unpaid real estate properties. Interest accrues on the tax certificate from June 1 until the taxes are paid. The amount of the certificate is the sum of the unpaid real estate tax and the non-ad valorem assessment, interest, advertising costs and fees.

  • Tax Paying Agents

    You can process escrow payment files online. Download the roll, submit request files and payments online using Grant Street Group on EscrowExpress.

    In accordance with Florida Statute 213.755 and Department of Revenue's Rule 12D-13.021, the Miami-Dade County Tax Collector's office requires all tax paying agents and escrow companies that paid more than $20,000 of property taxes last year to upload payment files for 2017 through EscrowExpress. Payment files from entities that paid more than $20,000 of property taxes last year will not be accepted unless they are submitted through EscrowExpress.

    To register, send the following information to escrowsupport@grantstreet.com:

    • Company name
    • Escrow code
    • Names of your contacts and email addresses

    For assistance using EscrowExpress, call 1-866-261-1636 or email escrowexpress@miamidade.gov.

Phone Number(s)

  • Property Taxes Section
    305-270-4916305-270-4916
  • 311 Contact Center
    311311

Email / Mail

Locations and Hours

  • Tax Collector's Office

    200 NW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33128
    1st Floor
    Monday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Tuesday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Wednesday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Thursday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tax Collector
Marcus Saiz de la Mora, Office Director

Tax Collector's Office
200 NW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33128
311311

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.