Skip to Primary Content
Home > Your Government > Elected Officials > District 9 > The Moss Plan

The Moss Plan

In recognition of the overwhelming needs that existed in some of South Dade's long-neglected communities prior to, and in the aftermath of Hurricane Andrew, Commissioner Moss sponsored the "South Dade Neighborhood Development Concept Plans", which was renamed by a unanimous vote by the Commission, "The Moss Plan".

Commissioner Moss attended more than 40 neighborhood meetings where citizens expressed their vision and needs for the future, Neighborhoods included in the Moss Plan are: East Naranja, Florida City, Goulds, Howard, Modello, Naranja/Leisure City, Princeton, Richmond Heights, South Miami Heights, Southwest Homestead, and West Perrine.

FEMA designated $73 million for the Moss Plan. Many projects benefiting from the Moss Plan include business expansion and development, street paving and road improvements, affordable housing, community centers/recreation facilities, community gateway signs, redevelopment and expansion of parks, beautification projects, crime prevention, and homebuyer's counseling.

Black Affairs Advisory Board Main Banner
Commission District 09
Dennis C. Moss

District 9 North District
10710 SW 211th Street, Suite 206, Miami, FL 33189
305-234-4938 | DennisMoss@miamidade.gov305-234-4938 |

District 9 South District
1634 NW 6th Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
305-245-4420 | DennisMoss@miamidade.gov305-245-4420 |

Contact Us | About the Commissioner

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.