Careers: Police Officer
The Miami-Dade Police Department's application process
for the position of Police Officer
is currently open.
Annual Salary: Min (probational) $58,451.90 - Max $103,204.92
Salary includes supplemental pay for hazardous duty pay and FDLE certification. A variety of additional pay supplements and pay incentives are available based upon assignments. Lateral officers are eligible for a pay increase contingent on the amount of law enforcement experience they had prior to employment.
If claiming Veteran's Preference, candidates must provide a DD-214 Member 4 form.
The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) sets the minimum requirements to be a law enforcement officer in the State of Florida. From there, each agency sets its own standards to determine if an applicant is suitable for the position of police officer.
- Be at least 20 years old to apply and 21 years old at the time of hire
- High school diploma or equivalent. An evaluation of a foreign school diploma may be required
- Have one or more of the following:
- An associate degree or at least 60 college credits
- Two years of active or reserve military duty
- Three years of consistent, post-high school experience.
- One year of full-time sworn law enforcement experience
- Not have been convicted of any felony or of a misdemeanor involving perjury or false statement
- Any person who, after July 1, 1981, pleads guilty or nolo contendere to, or is found guilty of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving perjury or a false statement, shall not be eligible for employment or appointment as an officer notwithstanding suspension of sentence or withholding of adjudication
- Never have received a dishonorable discharge from any of the Armed Forces of the United States
- Successfully pass a background investigation, to include drug testing
- Pass a physical examination by a licensed physician
- Pass the Criminal Justice Basic Abilities Test (CJBAT)
As of July 1, 2022, section 943.17(1)(g) states that any candidate wishing to enter a law enforcement academy that either (i) is a veteran as classified in section 1.01(14), F.S., or (ii) holds an associate degree or higher from an accredited college or university is not required to take the Law Enforcement Basic Abilities Test. Please note that a veteran is defined as being honorably discharged from military service. No other discharge classifications qualify.
- Complete and pass the physical ability Job-Related Task Assessment (JTA) administered at the Miami-Dade Public Safety Training Institute
- Must have successfully completed the Florida Law Enforcement Basic Recruit Training Program and successfully passed the Florida State Law Enforcement Officer Certification Examination
- For Florida Correctional Officers must have successfully completed a cross-over law enforcement program and successfully passed the Florida State Law Enforcement Officer Certification Examination
- If employed as a law enforcement officer outside of Florida, must have successfully completed the FDLE Equivalency of Training and successfully passed the Florida State Law Enforcement Officer
- Must complete a Certification Examination within one year of receipt of the approved Equivalency Training
- Complied with FDLE mandatory retraining or educational requirements for law enforcement officers
- Employed in a full-time sworn classification by (or separated within the preceding 24 months from) another police agency, in possession of a Basic Recruit Certificate of Compliance from the State of Florida or its equivalent, completed probation with a Florida law enforcement agency, and acquired at least one year of police experience
Note: Applicants who have previously been disqualified from the same classification must wait one year before re-applying.