Home > Solid Waste Management > Director, Solid Waste Management

Dr. Aneisha Daniel, PhD - Director

Dr. Aneisha Daniel, PhD, serves as the Director of the Department of Solid Waste Management (DSWM). The DSWM has significant responsibility for overseeing the management of waste and recyclables generated within the County in an environmentally responsible manner. Nearly 1,200 employees, including drivers, collectors, engineers, code enforcement officers, environmental compliance staff and other professional and technical employees work together to accomplish the Department’s mission. In addition to the traditional tasks of waste collection and disposal, the Department also oversees mosquito control countywide.
Aneisha is a seasoned senior executive with more than two decades of leadership and management experience in municipal government. Her career at Miami-Dade County began in January 1994 in the Miami-Dade Police Department. In 2000, she rose through the ranks to become a Budget Analyst in the Office of Management & Budget. Later, she took on the position of Director of the Fiscal Management Division for the Team Metro Department. Subsequently, she transitioned to Assistant Director of Administration in the Department of Solid Waste Management, ultimately attaining the position of Assistant Director of Collection Operations. Most recently, Aneisha was Deputy City Manager for the City of North Miami, where she garnered valuable experience. Before this, she served as the Deputy Director for the City of Fort Lauderdale Public Works Department from January 2019 to May 2021.

Throughout her tenure in Miami-Dade County and Solid Waste Management, Aneisha has been lauded for her professional accomplishments, including implementing numerous technological advancements to enhance operational efficacy, optimize resources, and bolster customer satisfaction.

Aneisha holds a bachelor’s degree in professional studies from Barry University, a master’s degree in management from St. Thomas University, and a Ph.D. in business from Florida Atlantic University.