Skip to Primary Content

Welcome to the new version of Miami-Dade County's website. We'd love your feedback.

Community Action Agency Board

The Community Action Agency Board is an advisory board to the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners that helps guide the development, planning, implementation and evaluation of Community Service Block Grant programs, as well as other programs administered by the Community Action and Human Services Department.

The board also advises the County on issues and causes of poverty and revitalization of low-income communities by empowering individuals and families to be self-sufficient.

The board of directors is comprised of 45 members from the following bodies:

  • 15 members representing Miami-Dade County's Mayor, Board of County Commissioners and the City of Miami Mayor.
  • 16 members elected through a democratic process to represent identified low-income communities.
  • 14 members representing community stakeholders in the areas of business, industry, labor, religion, law enforcement, social welfare and education.
  • CAA Board seeks new board members

    There are currently nine vacancies on the CAA Board in the Private and Public Groups and Interests sector of the CAA Board in the following categories:

    • Labor
    • Business
    • Elderly
    • Education
    • Social Welfare and Law Enforcement
    The term of office is two years and CAA Board members must serve without compensation. The CAA Board meets 10 times per year and members are encouraged to be involved in at least one committee on a regular basis. Committees include: Executive, Finance, Advocacy, and Youth Initiatives.

    Resumes are now being accepted. Resume curriculum vitae should be submitted to the Miami-Dade Community Action and Human Services Department, 701 NW 1st Court, Overtown Transit Village, North Tower, 10th Floor, Miami, Florida 33136 (Attn: Aleah Smith) or via email to It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure electronic receipt of the resume by contacting the Miami-Dade Community Action and Human Services Department at 786-469-4613. All resumes must be received or postmarked by March 29.

    The CAA Board's Nominating Committee will contact selected applicants for further consideration of service on the Board.
  • Board Members

    • Dr. William Zubkoff, Chair (District 9)
    • Dr. Joyce Price, 1st Vice Chair (District 6)
    • Beverly King, 2nd Vice Chair (Social Welfare)
    • Francesca Menes, Secretary (District 2)
    • Marjorie York, Assistant Secretary
    • Levy Kelly, Parliamentarian (South Miami CAC)
    • Delleperche Joseph, Treasurer
    • Janet Johnson, Head Start Policy Council Chair
    • Lis-Marie Alvarado
    • Nick Alvarez
    • Brenda Betancourt
    • Marie Birts
    • Richard Brown-Morilla
    • Dr. Santarvis Brown
    • Elijah Dukes
    • Jean Fincher
    • Sharon Frazier-Stephens
    • Joyce Galbut
    • Com. Dorothy Johnson
    • Maurice L. Kemp
    • Jeffrey Lagomacini
    • Jean-Carlo Larrea
    • Marissa Lindsey
    • Sonia Lopez
    • Courtney Omega
    • Alvin Roberts
    • Angelina Rodriguez
    • Pat Santangelo
    • Derrick L. Williams
    • Larry Williams
    • Sylvester Wooden
    • Anita Youngkin

    Emeritus Members

    • James Fayson (deceased)
    • Rev. Wilfred McKenzie (deceased)
    • Lillie Williams
  • Committees

    The Executive Committee is comprised of officers of the CAA Board and the chairs of the standing committees. The Committee monitors, assesses and makes recommendations to the full board on action items from the standing committees.

    • Dr. William Zubkoff, Board Chair
    • Dr. Joyce Price, 1st Vice/Executive Committee Chair
    • Beverly King, 2nd Vice Chair
    • Francesca Menes, Secretary
    • Marjorie York, Assistant Secretary
    • Delleperche Joseph, Treasurer
    • Levy Kelly, Parliamentarian 
    • Janet Johnson, Head Start Policy Council Chair
    • Dr. Santarvis Brown
    • Marie Birts
    • Sharon Frazier-Stephens

    Standing Committees

    • Executive Committee
      Dr. Joyce Price, Chair
    • Advocacy Committee
      Marie Birts, Chair
    • Ad hoc Committee
    • Finance and Resource Development Committee
      Delleperche Joseph, Chair
    • Youth Initiative Committee
      Dr. Santarvis Brown, Chair

Meeting Calendar

Community Action and Human Services
Lucia Davis-Raiford

Overtown Transit Village North
701 NW 1st Court, Miami, FL 33136

Contact Us

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.