Skip to Primary Content

Hurricane season runs through Nov. 30. Check out the Hurricane Guide to make sure you're ready for the next storm.

Home > Your Government > Trusts > Economic Advocacy Trust > Youth Action Committee

Youth Action Committee

The Youth Action Committee (YAC) serves as the advocacy arm of the MDEAT Board for the socio-economic development of youth within Miami-Dade County’s Targeted Urban Areas (TUAs). In fulfilling its purpose, the committee actively advocates for improved holistic services for local youth and for resources to assist the agency’s Youth Development division in accomplishing its strategic objective of creating opportunities for youth to develop into responsible citizens as well as provides policy recommendations for this end.

Youth Action Committee members understand the value and importance of providing opportunities for youth to flourish academically, economically and socially with a special emphasis on youth residing in TUAs. YAC meetings are held the second Thursday of every month at 10 a.m. at the Stephen P. Clark Government Center, 111 NW 1st Street, Room 18-3. View the calendar for meetings and events.
  • Board Members

    • Carol Hindsman
    • Cheryl Mizell
    • Dr. Tisa McGhee
    • Elbert Waters
    • Erbira "Erbi" Blanco-True
    • Hannibal Burton
    • James Bunyan - Housing Advocacy Committee Chairperson
    • Julio Piti
    • Katrina Wright - Economic Development Action Committee Vice Chairperson
    • Khaled Salahuddin, First Vice Chairperson/Youth Action Committee Chairperson
    • Lonnie Lawrence
    • Michelle LaPiana
    • Rennatta Delgado
    • Sheldon Edwards – Chairperson/Economic Development Action Committee Chairperson

Contact us

If you are interested in becoming active in the committee process, or receive information on upcoming events, send an email to

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.