Skip to Primary Content

Welcome to the new version of Miami-Dade County's website. We'd love your feedback.

Domestic Partnerships

Filing a declaration of domestic partnership allows for visitation rights at health care, correctional and juvenile facilities among registered couples. The declaration must be signed in front of a notary public and the document notarized. It can be submitted by mail or in person.

The cost is $64, with each additional certificate costing $7. Checks or money orders should be made payable to Miami-Dade County / CP. Visa, Mastercard and American Express are accepted when applying in person

  • Eligibility & Requirements

    • Each person must be at least 18 years old and competent to sign a contract
    • Neither person is married under Florida law, has a domestic partner or is a member of another civil union
    • They are not related by blood
    • Each person considers themselves to be a part of the immediate family of the other partner and to be jointly responsible for maintaining and supporting the registered domestic partnership
    • The partners reside in the same primary address

    Consult an attorney or the courts for any other legal issues regarding domestic partnerships. All domestic partnership registrations are subject to Florida public records laws.

  • Amendments to the domestic partnership declaration

    Partners must agree to amend the declaration of domestic partnership if the terms of partnership are no longer applicable. The amended declaration can be submitted by mail or in person.

    The cost is $34, with each additional certificate costing $7. Checks or money orders should be made payable to Miami-Dade County / CP. Visa, Mastercard and American Express are accepted when applying in person.

  • Domestic partnership termination

    Either partner of a registered domestic partnership may terminate such relationship by filing a notarized Declaration of Termination of Domestic Partnership Relationship. Upon receipt of a completed application, you will receive a letter certifying the termination. The termination will become effective 30 days from the date the certificate of termination is issued.

    The declaration must be signed in front of a notary public and the document notarized. It can be submitted by mail or in person.

    The cost is $34. Checks or money orders should be made payable to Miami-Dade County / CP. Visa, Mastercard and American Express are accepted when applying in person.

  • Regulation & Compliance

    Domestic Partnerships

    Filing a declaration of domestic partnership allows for visitation rights at health care, correctional and juvenile facilities among registered couples.

Phone Number(s)

Mail / Email

Locations and Hours

  • Consumer Protection

    601 NW 1st Court, Miami, FL 33136
    Licensing Division - 18th floor
    Monday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Tuesday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Wednesday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Thursday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    ****Initial and renewal applicants must be signed in by 3:30 p.m.
Regulatory and Economic Resources
Jack Osterholt, Deputy Mayor

Stephen P. Clark Center
111 NW 1st Street, Miami, FL 33128
786-315-2000786-315-2000

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.