Skip to Primary Content

Fees and Procedures for Court Services

Non-Enforceable Writs

Summons, 5-Day Summons, Eminent Domain, Injunctions, Notices, Writs of Garnishment, Rules to Show Cause, Notices of Tax Sale, Subpoenas, and all other types of non-enforceable process requiring service only.

Service Fee: $40 for each service per address plus a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Requirements: Original or certified copy, one conformed copy and attachments/complaints for each party or entity to be served

Out of State

This office will serve the process unless an explicit letter of instructions accompanies each document.

Service Fee: $41 for each service per address and additional in-state process charges that are not required by Florida, but are required by the originating state

Additional Fees:

  • Personal service - $44
  • Affidavit - $15 (must be submitted)
  • Notarization - $5

Enforceable Civil Writs

All documents must be either issued in or domesticated (adopted and certified) within the State of Florida.

The Sheriff's Office reserves the right to request that the plaintiff or their representative obtain additional court orders or clarification from the court prior to any process or serving of writs.

Any enforceable process which takes more than one hour to execute will be charged at the rate of $57.94 per hour per Deputy Sheriff. If anticipated, an estimated cost deposit will be required in addition to the original cost deposit. Expedited service is available and the plaintiff or agent requesting such service can call us for a fee schedule.

  • Writ of Possession
    Total Fee: $115 per writ per address, plus a self-addressed stamped envelope.
  • Landlord / Tenant Requirements:
    Original writ, one conformed copy
  • Foreclosure Requirements:
    Original writ, one conformed copy of writ

All Writs of Possession must have name and telephone number of landlord/authorized agent who will meet the Deputy Sheriff and accept possession of the premises.

  • Writ of Replevin
    Requirements: Original writ and one conformed copy. The writ must contain the address of the property under replevy and the name of a contact person to turn the property over to in the field. The plaintiff must provide labor and equipment necessary to complete the replevin. 

Fee: $90 per address plus self-addressed stamped envelope

If you wish to have a summons served at the same time the Writ of Replevin is served, you must send an additional fee for the service of the summons.

Service Fee: $40 per summons per address

  • Distress Writ
    Requirements: Certified copy of writ and a conformed copy, levy instructions, description of the property under distress and its location

Fee: $90 per address plus a self-addressed stamped envelope (cost deposit may be required)

  • Writ of Execution
    Total fee: $710
    $40.00 per service per address
    $50.00 levy
    $40.00 each advertisement of sale under process
    $40.00 each sale under process
    $40.00 each Bill of Sale, Satisfaction of judgment
    $500.00 minimum cost deposit

Instructions for Levy: An Instructions for Levy form must be accompanied by a cost deposit. Instructions for Levy forms are available at our office.

1: Cost deposits are collected in advance
Vehicle - $500

The Instructions for Levy form must be accompanied by a DMV printout, which can be obtained by writing to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Neil Kirkman Building
Tallahassee, FL 32301

The name(s) on the DMV printout must match those on the Writ of Execution EXACTLY. If they do not, you must furnish an Affidavit of Same Name, stating the reason you believe that they are one and the same.

2: Real Estate - $500

Recording Fee (payable to the Miami-Dade Clerk of Courts) - $10

The Instructions for Levy form must contain the legal description of the property. If the location is a vacant lot, you must furnish complete and specific directions to the property. A certified copy of the Final Judgment must be recorded with the Clerk of the Circuit Court in order to establish priority. A certified copy of the Warranty Deed and a certified recorded copy of the Final Judgment must be provided.

3: Airplane/boat/household items/business inventory, etc.

Cost deposits on these types of items are determined on an individual basis. Call us to obtain the amount and have available all the specifics involved with your levy: type of property, location, how much property is to be seized, etc.

These cost deposits are an estimate of the costs (sheriff's fees, towing and storage fees, advertising fees, recording fees, etc.) involved with a levy.

Should the actual costs incurred be greater than the cost deposit, the plaintiff and/or attorney directing the levy will be responsible for any additional charges.


Civil Warrants, Orders of Commitment, Capias, Writs of Bodily Attachment, etc.

All Warrants issued from a County outside of Miami-Dade MUST be forwarded to our office by the Sheriff's office of the issuing County.

Warrants to be served in Miami-Dade County

Fee: $90 per Warrant per address
All Department of Revenue Warrants: No Charge

  • Two Certified Copies of Order
  • Two Conformed Copies
  • Checks, cashier's checks or money order made payable to Sheriff of Miami-Dade County
  • Information sheet with address, date of birth and description of subject (i.e. race, sex, etc.)

Warrants to be Forwarded to Any Other County

Fee: $90 per warrant

  • Two Certified Copies of Order
  • Two Conformed Copies
  • Checks, cashier's checks or money order made payable to Sheriff of Miami-Dade County
  • Information sheet with address, date of birth and description of subject (i.e. race, sex, etc.)

Civil Writs of Bodily Attachment must be accompanied by an additional fee required by the Sheriff's office that will be serving the writ.

Alias or Pluries Service
The above listed fees also apply to service of alias and pluries process.

Fee: $40 per alias per address
Fee: $40 per pluries per address
Each service must provide a specific physical location and address.

All fees collected are non-refundable and are considered earned when request for service is made.

Court Services

Miami-Dade Clerk of Courts

Miami-Dade Police Department
Governmental Services Bureau
Court Services Section
Overtown Transit Village South
601 NW 1st Court; 9th Floor
Miami, FL 33136
gsbinfo@mdpd.com

General Information/Intake Counter
Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Note: Process Papers will not be accepted after 4:45 p.m.
Phone: 305-375-5100
Fax: 786-469-3660

Back to Court Services

Police
Juan J. Perez, Director

Fred Taylor Miami-Dade Police Headquarters
9105 NW 25th Street, Doral, FL 33172
305-4-POLICE305-4-POLICE
Contact Us | About Us