Skip to Primary Content

Welcome to the new version of Miami-Dade County's website. We'd love your feedback.

Causeways

The Causeways Division operates the toll plazas on both the Rickenbacker and Venetian Causeways. Both plazas operate under pay-as-you-go and electronic prepaid toll systems.

  • Financial Statements

  • Rickenbacker Causeway

    Toll prices
    The Rickenbacker Causeway toll plaza processes traffic through four lanes for entry to the islands of Key Biscayne and Virginia Key, as well as the beaches along the causeway. C-Pass transponders or cash are no longer accepted.

    Tolls
    Number of Axles SunPass Toll-By-Plate

    2 axles

    $2.25 $3
    3 axles $13.50 $16
    4 axles $16.70 $19.75
    5 axles $20.25 $24
    Per each additional axle $4.05 $4.20
    Toll-By-Plate monthly invoice fee   $2.50

     

    Resident Plan
    The cost of the Rickenbacker Causeway Resident Plan is $24 per vehicle. The price of the annual plan will not be pro-rated.

    To obtain a Rickenbacker Causeway Resident Plan, you'll need to provide:

    • A copy of current driver's license with Key Biscayne address
    • Current vehicle registration – Vehicle must be registered to the account holder and reflect Key Biscayne address
    • Proof of Residency – Customer must present one of the following: property tax bill, current utility bill (FPL or Water), and telephone or cable bill along with driver's license, each reflecting a residential address in Key Biscayne

    The Rickenbacker Resident Plan is available for two-axle non-commercial vehicles only.

    For questions regarding the annual plan or the renewal process, call 305-854-2468 or email mdctollsinfo@miamidade.gov.

    Commuter Plans
    The Rickenbacker Causeway Commuter Plan provides unlimited passage through the Rickenbacker Toll Plaza.

    Commuters are restricted to persons employed or attending school on the Rickenbacker Causeway or Key Biscayne. This annual plan is valid from October 1 to September 30, and can be purchased in person at the Service Center located at 4299 Rickenbacker Causeway.

    The cost of the Rickenbacker Causeway Commuter Plan is $60 per vehicle. The annual plan rate will not be pro-rated.

    To obtain a Rickenbacker Causeway Commuter Plan, you'll need to provide:

    • Copy of current vehicle registration. Registration must contain the name of the person purchasing the plan
    • Proof of employment, one of the following is accepted: copy of a pay stub, company letter along with a pay stub (if Key Biscayne address is not reflected in the pay stub)
    • Or proof of school enrollment: academic schedule with student ID

    The Rickenbacker Commuter Plan is available for two-axle non-commercial vehicles only.

    For questions regarding the annual plan or the renewal process, call 305-854-2468 or email mdctollsinfo@miamidade.gov.

    Weight Limits
    There are no posted limits on the Rickenbacker, which does not mean that unlimited loads can traverse the bridges. Only legal loads as defined by Florida Statute are allowed.

    Wide Load
    The maximum width of a vehicle including load that can be accommodated through the Rickenbacker Toll Plaza is 13 feet. The maximum height clearance is 15 feet. In the event that the size of a vehicle exceeds these limits, contact:

    Miami-Dade Police Department / Wide Load Escort
    Special Patrol Bureau - Motorcycle Unit
    1519 NW 79th Avenue, Doral, FL 33126
    Office: 305-468-1221
    Email: csmurphy@mdpd.com

  • Venetian Causeway

    Toll Prices
    The Venetian Causeway toll plaza has four lanes and processes two-way traffic, and connects mainland Miami with the Venetian Islands and Miami Beach. C-Pass transponders or cash are no longer accepted.

      Tolls  
    Number of Axles SunPass Toll-By-Plate
    2 axles $2.25 $3.00
    3 axles $3.80 $4.90
    4 axles $5 $6.50
    5 axles $6.30 $8.15
    Per each additional axle $1.10 $1.50
    Toll-By-Plate monthly invoice fee   $2.50


    Weight Limits
    Weight limits are currently in effect for the Venetian Causeway. No access is allowed to vehicles exceeding the posted limits without a permit. Violation of these weight restrictions may result in a traffic citation per Florida Statute 316.555.

    For vehicle weight permit information, call 786-469-5264 or email dennis.fernandez@miamidade.gov.

     

    Property Owner Plan
    The Venetian Causeway Owner Plan provides unlimited toll passage through the Venetian Toll Plaza for Venetian Islands property owners and their children 23 years old or younger who live with their parents. This annual plan is valid from Oct. 1 to Sept. 30 of the following year and can be obtained online or in person on Wednesdays at the Venetian Service Center located at the toll plaza.

    There is no cost for this plan.

    To obtain a Venetian Owner Plan, please provide the following:

    • A copy of current Driver's License.
    • Current Vehicle Registration - Registration must contain the name of the resident purchasing the plan.
    • Proof of Ownership - A copy of your property tax bill / folio number will be the only acceptable proof of ownership.

    The Venetian Owner Plan is available for two-axle non-commercial vehicles only.

    For any questions regarding the annual plan or the renewal process, call 305-854-2468 or email mdctollsinfo@miamidade.gov.

    Commuter Plan
    To obtain or renew a commuter plan, you must either be a resident or employed on one of the Venetian Islands or a Sunset Harbour resident. This plan is valid from Oct. 1 to Sept. 30 of the following year.

    To renew your annual plan, submit proof of residency or employment; a copy of your current vehicle registration; and the $90 fee.

    To obtain a Venetian Causeway Commuter Plan, you'll need to provide:

    • A copy of current driver's license with Venetian address
    • Current vehicle registration - Vehicle must be registered under applicant's name and reflect Venetian address
    • Proof of Residency - Customer must present one of the following: current utility bill (FPL or Water), or cable bill along with driver's license, each reflecting Venetian Causeway address

    The Venetian Commuter Plan is available for two-axle non-commercial vehicles only

    To document employment, you'll need to provide:

    • Current vehicle registration, vehicle must be registered under applicant's name
    • Driver's License
    • Pay stub - Pay stub must reflect a Venetian Causeway address

    The Venetian Commuter Plan is available for two-axle non-commercial vehicles only

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.